Great Things About Cooking

No matter how crappy my day was, I can always look forward to sharing some quality time at home with my husband,  our pets,  myself, and my kitchen.    You see, for someone who really likes to cook, there can always be a success at the end of a rotten day…  maybe the success has nothing to do with that work day, but a success is a success, so I’ll take it.   I’m not saying that every time i’m in the kitchen it’s a success however, every time I try something new, It either works great and I feel like a culinary genius or, it doesn’t work, and we go out for dinner.

I am  just saying, there are some really great things about cooking.   Especially when you nail a beurre blanc,  or in this case whisk a beurre blanc into  silky smooth, creamy, light perfection.  I came home from a “Monday” needing a success… I’m happy to report, I made one.

November 30,

Tilapia with lemon beurre blanc

Green Beans with garlic, and creamed potatoes.

Beurre Blanc:  or “white butter

2 tbsp shalots

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

1/2 cup dry white wine

6 to 8 tsp of butter ( the more the better, but really it’s your call)

salt to taste.

Add shalots white wine, and white wine vinegar to saute pan, raise heat to simmer for about 8 minutes or until most of the liquid has been absorbed ( there should be a little liquid left in the pan) add butter 1 tsp at a time and whisk or stir with a wooden spoon consistently until it’s melted.  keep adding the butter one or two pieces at a time, and as you’re getting down to the last two pieces taste to see how buttery it is, and decide if you want more or not.  If you’re pleased with its flavor and consistency, add a pinch of salt, to taste and viola, you have BEURRE BLANC!

Serve immediately, with fish, chicken, or any thing your heart desires… Beurre blanc, is a lovely compliment to almost any dish.

Enjoy!  I know we did!

Bye for now,

Writtenwell, or well, written.

Leave a Reply

