Bruschetta pronounced bru-sketa

This is one of the best Italian appetizers that anyone can prepare. It’s quick, beautiful, and so full of fresh delicious flavor… I highly recommend it!

What you’ll need
Italian Bread or French Baguette ( your choice) If you’re feeling especially motivated and creative you can make your own homemade bread, I usually do. However that recipe is for another time so for now we’ll just use the lovely Italian Bread provided by Kowalski’s Market!
Olive oil
Heirloom tomatoes ( if you can find a few different shades of red,orange and yellow it will be most visually pleasing)
Fresh Basil
Garlic
Balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper

Chop tomatoes, peel and chop two cloves of garlic, ( you want to chop it pretty finely) chop a few leaves of basil too ( use your discretion , meaning it’s not called basiletta, the basil is to accent the other flavors)
Place tomatoes and garlic in a mixing bowl, add a nice drizzle of olive oil, a splash or two of balsamic vinegar ( no more than two splashes) toss together to incorporate. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Preheat oven to 325
Slice baguette or bread about an inch thick, and brush lightly with olive oil.
Place bread on baking sheet and bake for about 5 -7 minutes or until bread is slightly toasted.
Remove from oven and top with tomatoes…. serve immediately!

That is my recipe for the day, I hope you enjoy! I know I always do.

Wait, I have to mention one more thing. I said I like to cook, and I do it quite well. I also said I like to write, and you have seen the way I sign off… ( if you haven’t noticed my signature, please take a minute to scroll down and look at the end of this entry) meaning, I like to write I didn’t rate my ability to do so. I never mentioned photography as a strong suit of mine. I did realize that taking and providing photos might help out for the sharing aspect of this… Please just note: I’m using my iphone, no enhancements, or perfect lighting, I’m not even doctoring anything in photoshop…. I’m just a girl who loves to cook and wants to share it with you, whoever and wherever you are. Thank you!

Bye for now,


Writtenwell or well, written.


Subscribe

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    December 5, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    There’s something about red and green that fulfills a visually appealing dish, doesn’t it? BTW, I wasn’t aware iPhones can take such good pictures!


Leave a Reply

