Filet with port sauce

After getting back to the states from a long break I have to admit it was difficult to get really excited about anything ( anything except for cooking that is… I discovered quite a few things I wanted to try ) Well, and our dog because our dog is pretty cool! But anyway, it was back to life and to work, or at least it was supposed to be. I was planning on quitting. Let’s just say, I have been less than satisfied at my current job, and that would be putting it mildly. I/we, decided after a long enough time away ( and feeling so incredibly happy in that time) it would be best for me to leave, and find something a little less…. awful?? That was the plan. Then, I got home. I reluctantly went back to work only to find 247 emails (apparently no one received my out of office). As I was weeding through the necessary, and unnecessary, deleting, and then the highly-unnecessary, and then the are you serious with with this… my boss called and said he needed to talk to me. Head in my hands, I thought that’s great because I’d like to talk to you too. I was planning on leaving. Turns out, I was being offered a different position. One that in my mind( which at this point was/is very corrupt) considering corporate america…seemed so much better. So after one conversation, one interview, a talk with my husband( not necessarily in that order). I accepted that new position, proudly. I accepted change, which is always good. I accepted a very progressive change, which is even better. More than anything, I didn’t quit.

And now on to the recipe I promised….. Ooh, and this one is gooood!!

Port wine 2 cups
Beef stock 1 cup
1 shallot
4 tbsp butter
1tsp cracked pepper
1/2 tsp white pepper
( you can add herbs, such as a sprig of rosemary, or thyme, or whatever you may like, I didn’t but I’m sure it would be equally delicious).

Chop shallot and lightly saute in pan with butter, until shallots are soft, not crisp. (3 minutes on medium heat)
Once shallots are tender, add pepper and port. Turn heat up to high and let boil, or begin to reduce you don’t want to burn it, but you want to bring it to a light rolling boil (reducing is when you heat a liquid so that most of it evaporates).
Once it is reduced to 1/2 add the beef stock. Once again, let it “boil” a bit and “reduce”. ( approx 20 min)
At this point you can taste it. You can always add a pinch of salt, or pepper if you feel it necessary, I did not. Also, you can add a tsp more of butter if you feel necessary. Remember cooking is an art, it’s about tasting. Recipes are a guideline, not a rule. Be creative, and prepare what tastes good or done to you!
Once your sauce is done, remove it from the heat and strain it through a cheese cloth. ( I didn’t strain mine because I happen to like the look and texture of shallots and cracked pepper however, you know the drill).

be sure you have your perfectly cooked cut of beef prepared, to serve with this velvety, rich, smooth, and unforgettably delicious sauce.

I hope you enjoy!

Ciao fo now,

Writtenwell, or well written.

So tonight I did it! I re-created what we had in a tiny, little restaurant in Rome. Filet al porto. It turned out perfectly.

Leave a Reply

